Free Trial Ad
Why Subscribe?
  • Player/Prospect News
  • Exclusive Insider Info
  • Members-Only Forums
  • Exclusive Videos
  • Subscribe Now!
InboxChat RoomChat Room (0 fans in chatroom)

TOP ELEVEN HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL RULES MYTHS

Posted: 10/14/2009 5:37 PM

TOP ELEVEN HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL RULES MYTHS 


Myth 1: Two feet required inbounds for a catch.
The Facts: Only one foot is required inbounds for a legal catch.

Myth 2: Defense can be "offsides" and get back.
The Facts: Neither team can enter the neutral zone and get back. It's encroachment as soon as the plane created by the ball is breached.

Myth 3: Uncatchable pass rules out interference.
The Facts: There is no "uncatchable" rule in high school

Myth 4: Quarterback out of the pocket can ground the ball legally.
The Facts: Intentional grounding is not related to the pocket. There is no "tackle box" in high school rules.

Myth 5: There are restrictions on punt team players going downfield.
The Facts: There are no such restrictions.

Myth 6: Missed FG goes back to line of scrimmage.
The Facts: In high school, a field goal is the same as a punt. A kick that goes into the EZ is a touchback and is placed on the 20.

Myth 7: It's an automatic first down on facemasks and personal fouls.
The Facts: The only automatic first downs are roughing calls and defensive pass interference.

Myth 8: Pass interference is possible on all passes.
The Facts: There's no interference if the ball doesn't pass the line of scrimmage. (If a defender tackles a screen pass receiver behind the line, however, it would be defensive holding).

Myth 9: Defense can run back a PAT for a touchdown.
The Facts: Once the defense gets the ball, the play is over and the PAT is ruled unsuccessful.

Myth 10: The field goal holder can throw a pass from the knee.
The Facts: The holder must rise to continue to play.

Myth 11: A player grabbing the runner by his shoulder pads is guilty of a horse collar.
The Facts: The player must immediately bring the runner down with the grab, bring him down backwards changing his direction, and the grab must be at the back of the shoulderpads. If the pads are grabbed in the side or front, or if the runner is not tackled by the horse collar, then it is not a foul.

Last edited 10/14/2009 5:39 PM by GoodScout

Reply | Quote

Posted: 10/16/2009 10:39 AM

Re: ?? 


9.  Is it possible for points to be scored by the D on a PAT?  Although highly unlikely, it is possible for K to run the ball into their own endzone resulting in a safety, or maybe a fumble and a touchdown.

 

10.  Does "pass" mean forward pass, and if so, can a backwards lateral be thrown form a knee?

 

11.  The side of the shoulderpads count as long as it is also inside the collar, correct?

Reply | Quote

Posted: 10/16/2009 2:41 PM

Re: ?? 


9. No. Play would simply be ruled an unsuccessful try.

10. No. Has to rise before he does anything, including a backwards pass.

11. No. This is not a horsecollar tackle. Must be from back.

Reply | Quote

Posted: 10/16/2009 2:55 PM

Horsecollar 


can be from the back OR the side.  Must change the direction of the ballcarrier.

 

HORSE-COLLAR TACKLE ADDED TO ILLEGAL PERSONAL CONTACT (9-4-3k –

NEW):

of illegal personal contact fouls in Rule 9-4-3k regardless of where it occurs on

the field. The new provision makes it illegal to grasp the inside back or side opening

of the collar of the jersey or shoulder pads of the runner and subsequently

pull the runner to the ground. The NFHS Football Rules Committee felt the need

to continue to address risk minimization issues for the runner.

This change now defines a horse-collar tackle and adds this act to the list

Last edited 10/16/2009 2:56 PM by Daddybug

Reply | Quote

Posted: 10/16/2009 3:40 PM

Re: ?? 


9.  Rule 8-3-3     Guess we'll never see this.  Kind of like a safety in overtime.  Am I reading this one wrong?

 

11.  see above Rule 9-4-3k     I like to see rules added that increase safety, but the way this is written leaves it open to individual interpretation.  One of those "That aint no horse collar!" when it's called on our team, and "You're going to get my player hurt!" if it's not called for our team. 

 

 

Reply | Quote

Posted: 10/17/2009 9:48 AM

Re: TOP ELEVEN HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL RULES MYTHS 


#2 is not correct is it? What if say a defensive end jumps across but doesnt cause an offensive player to jump and then comes back, would the play not continue? I know it's like that in college football. Encroachment is only contact. And then you have offsides when a defensive player jumps in to the neutral zone causing an offensive player to react. Those are both dead ball fouls. But you can have a live offsides when an outsidedefender is either lined up offsides or jumps offsides and the ball is snapped to force the penalty. Those plays are live.

 

 

 

The Drive for Five never came out alive!
Calhoun Yellow Jackets 2011 State Champions

Last edited 10/17/2009 9:53 AM by MCES12

Reply | Quote

Posted: 10/18/2009 12:23 AM

Re: TOP ELEVEN HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL RULES MYTHS 


#2 is correct. Once any player (offense or defense) jumps in the neutral zone it is a dead ball foul in NFHS rules. The first player in the neutral zone is the one charged with the foul.

Reply | Quote
Avatar

Posted: 10/25/2009 3:08 PM

Re: TOP ELEVEN HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL RULES MYTHS 


#8)  I may be wrong, but I think thtere is no pass interference if the pass is tipped.  



NORTHSIDE




EAGLES

Reply | Quote

Posted: 11/5/2009 4:20 PM

Re: TOP ELEVEN HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL RULES MYTHS 


 

GoodScout wrote:
Myth 5: There are restrictions on punt team players going downfield.
The Facts: There are no such restrictions.


Not sure this is right, though I saw it in the LaGrange-Carver game.  The ball was snapped high and the Carver punter tipped it up and to himself.  He then scrambled and threw it to a player while virtually everyone was downfield.  No flag.

Reply | Quote

Posted: 11/9/2009 6:18 AM

Re: TOP ELEVEN HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL RULES MYTHS 


 

The play you described turned into a pass play although it was set up as a scrimmage kick.  The scrimmage kick did not occur.  The play turned into a pass play and the umpire would have coverage of ineligibles downfield.  If ineligibles were downfield, a penalty should have been called.

Reply | Quote
Avatar

Posted: 12/7/2009 7:20 PM

Re: TOP ELEVEN HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL RULES MYTHS 


#6: So if on a long FG attempt the kick lands very short and dies on the 2-yard line, the other team takes over from there?
Reply | Quote

Posted: 12/8/2009 5:56 AM

Re: TOP ELEVEN HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL RULES MYTHS 


First and ten from the 2. 

Reply | Quote

Posted: 10/28/2011 2:00 PM

Re: TOP ELEVEN HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL RULES MYTHS 




---------------------------------------------
--- Eagle Vet wrote:

#8)  I may be wrong, but I think thtere is no pass interference if the pass is tipped.  



---------------------------------------------

You are correct. This is another example of why No. 8 is a myth. Once the ball is tipped by a defender, PI restrictions disappear. You could still have a holding call if one player tackles another in an attempt to prevent him from reaching the ball.
Reply | Quote

Posted: 11/1/2011 7:33 PM

#10 


---------------------------------------------
--- GoodScout wrote:
Myth 10: The field goal holder can throw a pass from the knee.
The Facts: The holder must rise to continue to play.
---------------------------------------------

I saw a team a few years back attempt the "LSU" fake field goal where the hold throws it over their shoulder and the kicker catches it and runs. Although we stopped the kicker the second he caught the ball, there was no penalty. Would that play not go against this rule?

Last edited 11/1/2011 7:33 PM by vhswildcats

Reply | Quote