Free Trial Ad
Why Subscribe?
  • Player/Prospect News
  • Exclusive Insider Info
  • Members-Only Forums
  • Exclusive Videos
  • Subscribe Now!
Inbox

Hamiltons play was legal I assume?

Posted: 07/11/2014 5:21 PM

Hamiltons play was legal I assume? 


Although I am not a rules expert I thought you had to be between the lines running to first but apparently you can run in the grass inside the lines to avoid a tag, but if a thrown ball hits you there you are out? Or is it the same rule as when Josh avoided the tag in a rundown between second and third and made it to third?Of course Sanchez should have never missed the tag in the first place.
Reply | Quote
Avatar

Posted: 07/11/2014 5:35 PM

Re: Hamiltons play was legal I assume? 


Everything I can find is that the runner has 3 feet to either side.  I heard Harold Reynolds griping on the MLB network (by the way, he has turned very whiny; I used to like him, but he bitches too much for me now) about even less.

One other thing I found, though I can't find the basis for it, is that in plays like that, the baseline is the line between the runner and the base, not between the bases (again, I cannot find verification, so that's not firm).

In other words, I don't think Hamilton did anything wrong, but J-Hay's is more nebulous.

Edit:  he has three feet to either side if a fielder is in pursuit to tag; if nobody is, then he can go outside the stadium, take a leak, get a coffee, come back and be fine.  Notice that when a runner hits a gapper and goes well out, nobody calls him out...nobody is pursuing him.

Also--the remark about the baseline above being between the runner and the next base is inaccurate...that's called the base path.  In fact, technically, there are no drawn baselines.  The lines between home and third/first are foul lines, even though they are drawn in what we call the baselines, but they are not baselines.

What a strange game we love, no?

JFC 2013 Bluegrass Jam

Last edited 07/11/2014 5:43 PM by samalifagus

Reply | Quote

Posted: 07/11/2014 6:30 PM

Re: Hamiltons play was legal I assume? 


The lines that mark the 3 foot wide base running lane down the first base line are only applicable to interference with the 1B when receiving a throw. A runner is not out for going outside that lane on a play such as Hamilton's. That play is like any other tag play where the runner can not go beyond 3 feet of the base path to avoid the tag. The base path is established from where the runner is at the time of the tag attempt directly to the bag. Most umpires gauge 3 feet as a step and a reach. And yes, I have umpiring experience. It was a good call.
Reply | Quote
Avatar

Posted: 07/11/2014 6:33 PM

Re: Hamiltons play was legal I assume? 



mjdouble wrote: The lines that mark the 3 foot wide base running lane down the first base line are only applicable to interference with the 1B when receiving a throw. A runner is not out for going outside that lane on a play such as Hamilton's. That play is like any other tag play where the runner can not go beyond 3 feet of the base path to avoid the tag. The base path is established from where the runner is at the time of the tag attempt directly to the bag. Most umpires gauge 3 feet as a step and a reach. And yes, I have umpiring experience. It was a good call.
Much better stated than I, thanks.

JFC 2013 Bluegrass Jam
Reply | Quote