Free Trial Ad
Why Subscribe?
  • Player/Prospect News
  • Exclusive Insider Info
  • Members-Only Forums
  • Exclusive Videos
  • Subscribe Now!
InboxChat RoomChat Room (0 fans in chatroom)
Reply to TopicPost New Topic
  Page of 2  Next >

They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too

Posted: 6/24/2014 10:50 PM

They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 


Umps got the call wrong in 8th inn of @VandyBaseball. Both runner & batter should have been out. NCAA rulebook 8(c)5

@VandyBaseball w/ less than 2 outs, the batter-runner, as well as interfering runner shall be declared out and no other runner(s) shall advance.

NCAA does not have a mandatory suspension rule for the next game after an ejection unless the ejection is for arguing or showing up an umpire.
Reply | Quote

Posted: 6/24/2014 11:07 PM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 


nobody was ejected though, so I don't understand what you are saying unless you mean they should have ejected him
brokris849 wrote: Umps got the call wrong in 8th inn of @VandyBaseball. Both runner & batter should have been out. NCAA rulebook 8(c)5

@VandyBaseball w/ less than 2 outs, the batter-runner, as well as interfering runner shall be declared out and no other runner(s) shall advance.

NCAA does not have a mandatory suspension rule for the next game after an ejection unless the ejection is for arguing or showing up an umpire.
Reply | Quote

Posted: 6/24/2014 11:09 PM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 


Correct. There should have been two outs, and an ejection.
Reply | Quote

Posted: 6/24/2014 11:15 PM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 


What would be the reasoning for the ejection? Is it illegal to run through and into an infielder on base during a rundown?
Reply | Quote

Posted: 6/24/2014 11:24 PM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 


According to the new rules for base runners initiating contact, any contact above the waist by the runner that was purposefully initiated by the runner can be called flagrant, interference and result in an ejection.

Basically it was instituted to keep players from running over catchers and forcing them to slide. But it applies to every place on the field.

What Papi should have done is given himself up, or dove back into the bag.
Reply | Quote
  • bek7567
  • VandyManiac
  • 12501 posts this site
Avatar

Posted: 6/24/2014 11:29 PM

Re: I won't even pretend to understand this thread fully... 


yet it seems to me that we just got our butts kicked tonight, and no amount of blotched calls could have saved us, anyway.

And if this isn't truly the case, then I myself am a total moron, which could well be the case, but I seriously doubt it.

In other words, this thread is merely an example of futile excuse-making, I really do believe.

"a coward is a man who can forsee the future. a brave man is almost always without imagination."

--Charles Bukowski



Last edited 6/24/2014 11:30 PM by bek7567

Reply | Quote

Posted: 6/24/2014 11:30 PM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 


I'm not making any excuse. I was posting that Vandy baseball clarified they got the rule wrong.
Reply | Quote
Avatar

Posted: 6/24/2014 11:34 PM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 


What if Campbell would have had a concussion and not been available for Wednesday for us while Papi plays on? A four or five run lead doesn't give you a free pass to skirt the rules of decency. What a freaking jerk.

Last edited 6/24/2014 11:35 PM by DonYates

Reply | Quote

Posted: 6/24/2014 11:37 PM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 



DonYates wrote: What if Campbell would have had a concussion and not been available for Wednesday for us while Papi plays on? A four or five run lead doesn't give you a free pass to skirt the rules of decency. What a freaking jerk.
+1,000

 
 

Be like Foster, Jenkins, Rodgers, Matthews & others of The Word and The Way!!!

Last edited 6/24/2014 11:37 PM by VanDSIRROM

Reply | Quote

Posted: 6/24/2014 11:51 PM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 


You're right, Don. I got confused because of things I'd heard about plays at home. But I understand now from a friend that rough plays like that don't normally happen at 3rd. And of course VA got another hit after that. I do think he should have been ejected now that I know the rules better. I see why everyone is upset.


Also a friend says Beede was made to throw too many pitches tonight and his pitches didn't hit til he had been in too long. However I guess they didn't want to use the bullpen tonight.

Last edited 6/24/2014 11:51 PM by GerryN

Reply | Quote

Posted: 6/25/2014 12:00 AM

Re: I won't even pretend to understand this thread fully... 



Hey, bek....can you believe that I agree with you 100%????

---------------------------------------------
--- bek7567 wrote:

yet it seems to me that we just got our butts kicked tonight, and no amount of blotched calls could have saved us, anyway.

And if this isn't truly the case, then I myself am a total moron, which could well be the case, but I seriously doubt it.

In other words, this thread is merely an example of futile excuse-making, I really do believe.

---------------------------------------------
Reply | Quote
  • bek7567
  • VandyManiac
  • 12501 posts this site
Avatar

Posted: 6/25/2014 1:49 AM

Re: Btw... 


Mike Papi =

Nosferatu (as per look-alikes).

So some amout of evil is to be expected of him.

(Kidding, of course. Just trying to lighten the mood, so humor me, if you would).

Hey, we're still playing for a national title tomorrow; let's try to keep a little optimism present if we could, just as I hope our team will do).

"a coward is a man who can forsee the future. a brave man is almost always without imagination."

--Charles Bukowski



Last edited 6/25/2014 2:16 AM by bek7567

Reply | Quote
Avatar

Posted: 6/25/2014 8:03 AM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 


http://www.tennessean.com/stor...ction/11344921/

So he wasn't ejected based on the judgment call of the umpire.

Also, the umpires did get the number of outs right.  Since the batter had reached first base by the time the play at third happened, that batter is entitled to first base.
Reply | Quote

Posted: 6/25/2014 8:07 AM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 





---------------------------------------------
--- titans309fan wrote:

www.tennessean.com/stor...ction/11344921/

So he wasn't ejected based on the judgment call of the umpire.

Also, the umpires did get the number of outs right.  Since the batter had reached first base by the time the play at third happened, that batter is entitled to first base.

---------------------------------------------

Based on that same logic, why was the runner at third sent back to second?

If you award the better first Based on the ruling, then you have to award the runner third because he was standing on the bag.
Reply | Quote
Avatar

Posted: 6/25/2014 8:13 AM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 



brokris849 wrote:


---------------------------------------------
--- titans309fan wrote:

www.tennessean.com/stor...ction/11344921/

So he wasn't ejected based on the judgment call of the umpire.

Also, the umpires did get the number of outs right.  Since the batter had reached first base by the time the play at third happened, that batter is entitled to first base.

---------------------------------------------

Based on that same logic, why was the runner at third sent back to second?

If you award the better first Based on the ruling, then you have to award the runner third because he was standing on the bag.
Brokris, the rule that you posted in the beginning of this thread only applies in force out situations.  

(Update: I don't know why the guy at third was moved back to second)

Here is a good copy of the rulebook:  http://www.stevetheump.com/rul..._NCAA_rules.pdf

Last edited 6/25/2014 8:43 AM by titans309fan

Reply | Quote

Posted: 6/25/2014 8:25 AM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 


But here is the problem... Papi could not have gotten safely to 3rd base.  It was already being occupied.  So the reasoning that Campbell was blocking him from getting to the bag is pretty much pure BS.  If this was at home plate, then maybe I'm okay with it.  Although Papi still initiated contact above the waist.

I hope this lights hell of a fire under the Dores tonight.
Reply | Quote
  • zdore
  • Deck hand
  • 232 posts this site

Posted: 6/25/2014 8:39 AM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 


The intent of the individual in question was obvious however you cut the pie and whatever the rule book and umpires say. He had little or no chance to alter the outcome of the play. I have no idea (and don't need to) what XT did to get suspended. It did seem that the suspension happened quickly and authoritatively, as it should have. I hate he was suspended, but like the message that was sent. Perhaps the umpires need to reflect on that idea to discourage injuries that can alter a persons life permanently. At the end of the day, VU has no control over any of that. We do have something to say about the outcome of game three. If this event is the spark, so be it. Don't get mad, get even, is a good piece of wisdom; however in this case, that does not mean a bean ball. It means win game 3 and let this immature person have to live with the disappointment of an unachieved goal for the remainder of his life.

Virginia is a quality academic peer institution. I really don't want to be know as: The Home of Smashmouth Baseball. Hopefully, their fine coach will use this opportunity to help this individual avoid behavior in the future.
Reply | Quote
Avatar

Posted: 6/25/2014 8:42 AM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 


Now that I look at the replay of that play, I don't know why the runner that made it to third was called back to second.  He should have stayed there.
Reply | Quote

Posted: 6/25/2014 8:58 AM

Re: They blew more than just the ejection: batter out too 


The replay shows Papi lowering his head and charging Campbell...at the moment of contact, Papi has his head lowered and the top of his batting helmet hits Tyler in the mouth bloodying his lip...also, Papi's forearms hit Campbell in the chest and sent him for a loop...

Head butting is no longer even allowed in football...

While 'what Papi did' did not alter the outcome of the game, it sure altered my opinion of Papi and if the virginia coach does not publicly make a conciliatory apology then my opinion of the university of virginia will certainly be altered for the worse...not only 'bad sportsmanship' but a dangerous dirty play...


.

 
 

Be like Foster, Jenkins, Rodgers, Matthews & others of The Word and The Way!!!

Reply | Quote
Avatar

Posted: 6/25/2014 9:04 AM

Outsider who says Papi should be gone 


www.collegebaseballdaily.com/2...e-cws/#comments

Interesting article from an outsider who says Papi should undoubtedly been tossed and reviewed for a game 3 suspension. The rules are pretty clear so I'm not sure why the refs were talking about him throwing an arm or something. That is irrelevant. It was contact above the waist.

Last edited 6/25/2014 9:04 AM by TheoDore8

Reply | Quote
Reply to TopicPost New Topic
  Page of 2  Next >